FacebookTwitterPinterestInstagramTumblrGoogleYouTube

RSS Feed Print
Reviews, not critiques, and how to get them
Tricia McKee
Posted: Thursday, August 20, 2015 2:02 PM

Hi All,

I am a newbie and I am stumbling through the process. I am polishing up my first manuscript, Moonlight & Whiskey, and getting ready to send it to the editor. I've seen lots of things about Indie author's and the importance of reviews and I was hoping you all could help me clear up some questions.

When do I get them, before the book is published to include in the novel, or after by readers?

Where do I get them? How do I find credible reviewers willing to read and write a review?

Will just any old reviews do? If that's the case I'm sure mom would give me a killer review...

Is it worth it to pay for them, like with PW and Writer's digest?

Is there a good way to approach someone you have in mind without really knowing them?

What methods have been effective for you?

Answers to any, or all of the above, would be a big help, and if I forgot any important questions feel free to add.

Daniel Roland Banks
Posted: Sunday, August 30, 2015 9:03 AM

To get reviews you must have readers. There are at least a million books published in this country each year. There is a difference between writing as a business and writing as a hobby. The competition is about a million to one. If you only have to compete with books written in your genre, then it's only tens of thousands to one. Unless you get picked up by a traditional publisher, you're competing against them and the system for every reader. If you self publish, all the expense of producing and marketing comes out of your pocket. It takes a great deal of time and effort to develop a fan base. Promoting a book is a full time job, with no guarantee of a return on the investment.